Grateful

15 Oct

There is a group of ladies from our church that are going away for the weekend for some fellowship, shopping and fun.  We rented a HUGE house for the weekend and  I was blessed to have an anonymous person pay my way for this trip….What a blessing!  God is ever faithful.  My friend who has organized this trip asked for me to make a Thank You card for us to leave for the home owner.  (Such a sweet thought)

I used one of Asela’s tree (Ash Tree) stamps from CHF.  I added some fun stiching for the ground and stamped the tree image with Timber Brown Staz-On ink and water colored the tree.  The card base is the super yummy Fabriano Medioevalis cards. The sentiment is had written.  I use to do Calligraphy 8 plus yrs ago and Lisa Ridgley from Pen & Ink gave me the inspiration I needed to get out my dip pens, nibs and inks to do a little calligraphy on my card.  I am a bit rusty…but with practice I can start to add some more personal touches to my cards.  Thanks for the inspiration Lisa! 

Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to enter your name for the homemade felt embellishments – Blog candy in the post below.

Many Blessings,

Mary

4 Responses to “Grateful”

  1. Nancy ~ Inkcicles October 15, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    God is so awesome! Thanks for sharing your blessings!

    Lovely card and design Mary.

    🙂

  2. Lisa Ridgely October 15, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    Hi Mary! Dip pen calligraphy is such a wonderful art, and I'm so happy you were inspired to add a little calligraphy to your design! I saw your questions about books – There are so many, but I especially recommend Foundations of Calligraphy by Sheila Waters. This post may be helpful for you too – http://www.penandink-journal.com/2009/09/learning-calligraphy.html

    I hope you enjoy your weekend away!

    – Lisa

  3. Chrisd October 16, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Lovely job. Have a bleesd weekend of fun and fellowship! Hugs from Michigan

  4. martita October 19, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    simple and lovely… 🙂

Leave a Reply

