Birthday Card

3 Mar

I have been trying to fine tune my cartooning skills.  I have a lot of work ahead of me….=) 

I made this card for my cousin’s husband, his nick name is Critter.  He is the Pastor of the Oshkosh daughter work and they are doing an amazing job!  He had a Birthday back in January, and because we were all on the 40 day fast we didn’t celebrate his Birthday until last Sunday.   Also last Sunday they celebrated their One year anniversary as a church!  Praise God! 

God is moving in a mighty way!  If you are in Oshkosh, WI you should come and check it out!  Here is their website:  Pathway Apostolic Church.  (The website is a work in progress…)

There are some jokes attached to this cartoon.  When someone made an annoucment for Pathway Apostolic Church a while back, they accidently said “Pathways”.  Christopher (Critter) corrected them when he got the mic, because there is a  “Pathways” church and he doesn’t want anyone to get confused…so the plaque on the pulpit has the “s” crossed off.  (Inside family joke.)  The next funny part is when he preaches, almost every sermon he makes the statement “The fact of the matter is….”  So I had to put that.  LOL!  May not seem to funny to you…but our family was having a blast with it.  The inside of the card says “it’s your birthday, let’s celebrate!”

As you can see with the eyes of the image, I am begining to draw from the cartoon form of manga, but with my own twist.  I am still learning how to render (shade) for clothing so it looks real. (Need lots of practice, anyone have any tips, please share. I am willing and ready to learn.)

Thanks for stopping by today and many blessings!

Mary

Sharing the Love:  Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.  Hebrews 11:1

2 Responses to “Birthday Card”

  1. Rachel B March 3, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    I was sent to your blog by Tracy V and in seeing your projects, I can see why she thinks your cards are so fabulous! I really love all those couch cards and the angles are adorable! Beautiful. I wanted to also let you know of a DT call for Black Leaf Studio's. If you are interested, you can find the link for the call here: http://blackleafdesigns.blogspot.com/2010/02/blackleaf-studios-dt-call.html#comments . I think you would make a great addition to the digital design team!

  2. Shawna March 4, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Read the previous post wanting you to check out a DT call…. you are on fire girl!!!

Leave a Reply

