Sugar Creek Hollow Saturday

5 Mar
EDIT:  Question from Christ from Iowa asked me if I could share how I colored the flowers.  
I used BV00, BV02, BV04 and Y28.  I added a bit of yellow to the center of each flower after I did a base coat with my lightest purple.  From there I used the feathering technique and then covered the flowers with Sukra glitter pen and added some crystals.  I hope this helps Chris…Blessings to you!
This month is celebration time with Sugar Creek Hollow.   This month is their One year Anniversary!!! Can you believe it?  I can’t….  Tracy has a ton of fun things planned for you this month.  Here are the deets for this weeks give away.
If you want a chance to win our blog candy just follow these steps:




1. Become a follower, if aren’t already one.
2. Leave a comment with a contact email in case you win.
3. Grab a copy of the blog candy photo and post it on your sidebar.
4. Link the photo back to the Sugar Creek Hollow challenge blog.
Don’t forget any of the steps so you will be eligible to win all these wonderful crafting supplies.

_____________________________________
Before I get on with my card…we also have a new Guest Designer this month, Darlene.  Please welcome her this month and visit her amazing blog for tons of inspiration.
Here is this weeks challenge.  A sketch.
Good Morning!  Today is Challenge day over at Sugar Creek Hollow.   We have a sketch challenge for you.  This is my take on the sketch.   I used the February violets for my focal image.  Colored them with Copic markers, sakura glitter pen, and swarovski crystals.  The sentiment stamp is from Papertrey Ink – Dress form mini set.
Please join in the fun and make a card following this sketch. Make sure to check out the Design Team over at the Sugar Creek Hollow Blog.

Thank you for stopping by,

Mary

Sharing the Love:  “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

8 Responses to “Sugar Creek Hollow Saturday”

  1. Tracy Vinson March 5, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Hi Mary…I don't know what to say….your coloring is just so realistic on your flowers. Love what you did with this image.

  2. Nancy March 5, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Mary, brilliant what you did with the flower…why didn't I think of that (I may have to copy!!) A gorgeous card this week!

  3. Darlene (SCS:akronstamperdpk) March 5, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    WOW … LOVE the coloring on these violets … so realistic and they really pop against the CAS design! FABULOUS creation!

    I'm so thrilled to be working with you ladies this month! I draw such inspiration from each of you! Thanks for that!

  4. Heide March 5, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Your flowers are just stunning, love the soft purple that you have used.

  5. Sue from Oregon March 5, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Oh what lovely creations you have on your blog! Had fun browsing this morning! Thanks for poppin in at SCS and leaving such a nice comment!

  6. Donna Moore March 5, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Perfectly gorgeous! I love the ghost look of the leaves behind your flowers! You colored the flowers just beautifully and showcased them perfectly! I love the earth tones that surround the vibrancy of your focal point, love it!!
    hugs
    donna

  7. Renlymats World of Family & Crafts March 5, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    You do clean and simple to perfection. I wish I had your knack. This is so beautiful and elegant. Love the shade of purple on the flowers and the beautiful crystal centers. Excellent job!

  8. Anonymous March 6, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Simply gorgeous Mary! I love how you colored the violets – so pretty. Great card! Thanks for sharing. Any tips on how you colored those violets?

    Chris R. from Iowa

Leave a Reply

